Year One

updated snip[1]

Here’s a mockup of one visualization we’re considering to access MFA cohorts by year. As you can see, 1932 conveniently emerges as Year One of the program era insofar as the first two directors of the Workshop, Paul Engle and Wilbur Schramm, both received MAs, alongside Wallace Stegner, who would go on to launch the program at Stanford. Together, they cover the three main genres–poetry, fiction, and nonfiction–that would come to dominate creative writing programs. Norman Foerster, founder of the College of Letters and persistent advocate of the creative thesis, directed Schramm’s thesis. We’ve still haven’t identified the directors for Engle and Stegner, but Foerster is a pretty likely candidate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *